top of page



Izzy & Cecily

Hi, my name is Izzy and I live in the Wichita area in the state of Kansas.  I am 13 years old and in the 7th grade.  I love sports, especially basketball and volleyball.  This year I played on my middle school teams for both.  Other activities that I like are singing, learning piano and anything that involves art.

I currently have almost a 60 degree thoracic curve that requires me to have surgery.  I am scheduled to have spinal fusion soon!  I was 6 years old when I was diagnosed with scoliosis and was immediately put in a night-time brace.  After two years of that, my doctor switched me to a full-time brace.  I tried it for a while, but I never really got used to it and I ended up not wearing it at all by the time I was in 4th grade.  My curve has progressed quickly since then and that is why I am having surgery.

When I found out about Curvy Girls, I looked for a group near me because I don’t know anyone with scoliosis and I thought it would be good to talk to others who are in my situation. We didn’t have a Curvy Girls' group near me, so I decided to start one!  I hope to connect with other girls who are going through the same things as me.  I want to help other girls by sharing my story and hopefully learn from other girls telling me their story. 

Hi, my name is Cecily! I'm from Winfield, Kansas. I was diagnosed with scoliosis in March of 2021, and I had to get VBT surgery that June. One of my favorite hobbies is gymnastics, and I also love singing and writing songs!

I want to support other people that have scoliosis. I have seen what Izzy has done to help other girls and I want to be able to do the same. I hope that my story will inspire other people to be brave if they need scoliosis surgery.

bottom of page