top of page

North Carolina


Sophie & Molly

Hello my name is Sophie. I am 12 years old and I have Scoliosis. I have had it since I was in Kindergarten. I have had to wear a brace  since I was 6 years old. I wore my brace at night. My curve is now 70 degrees. When I was diagnosed my curve was 26 degrees. Because  my curve is so bad the brace won’t work anymore. In 2 short weeks I will have the surgery to get my spine straight again. This surgery is going to be a big deal. I can’t wait to have it because I will be able to be my normal self again. My surgery is going to be in  South Carolina at Shriners Children's Hospital. The procedure will take 7 hours but after I will not have a big curve anymore.


Even though I have Scoliosis I have never let it stop me from doing the things I love. I currently play tennis and did gymnastics for years. I also love to do crafts and playing with my puppy Murphy. 

I have been a member of Curvy Girls for the past three years.This has been very helpful to me because I found out a lot of information I didn’t know . Some of the girls have had surgery and some have not. The current leader is going to college, so now I am taking over the position . I am excited to be the leader of the group because I want to help people the way that the group has helped me.  

My name is Molly and I live in a small town outside of Charlotte, NC. A fun fact about me is that I am a twin, my younger sisters are twins and my Dad is a twin! Having three sisters is fun; the house is always loud and crazy. I have a dog named Scout who is a rescue and the cutest little girl ever!

I spend most of my time competitive dancing. I do jazz, tap, lyrical, contemporary, ballet and hip hop. I spend lots of time during the week in the dance studio, practicing. Competition season is this spring so that’s really fun. I love dancing in front of an audience.

I am a sophomore in high school. I like to be involved in lots of activities and to stay busy. I am VP of DECA club and we are going to State Competition this weekend. We get to compete in role plays about business and since I like to talk, this is a good fit. I like going to sporting events at my school and cheering on my friends in football, basketball, soccer and baseball. I am also a part of a leadership club and Key Club. I participate in Hands of Hope, a volunteer organization and I am part of Student Government.

In downtime, I like to spend time with friends. We go get Starbucks and go out to eat. To fund that, I work a couple shifts a week at a local restaurant, hosting. We hosted an exchange student last summer from Barcelona, Spain and that has really peaked my interest to travel. She is coming back this summer and I’m hoping to go visit her the following summer.

As for my scoliosis journey, I was diagnosed when I was 12. My Mom has scoliosis and wore a brace 23 hours a day when she was a teenager. She kept an eye on me and noticed a curve. I wore a brace for about 2.5 years, at night. I didn’t really have any trouble with it and had 2 braces total. I joined Curvy Girls because a family friend was the Leader. I enjoyed talking to other girls going through the process and hearing their stories.

bottom of page